National Harbours Board. The Board was established by Act of Parliament in 1936 (RSC 1970, c.N-8). It is responsible for the administration of port facilities at the harbours of St. John's, Nfld.; Halifax, NS; Saint John and Belledune, NB; Chicoutimi, Quebec, Trois-Rivières and Montreal, Que.; Churchill, Man.; Vancouver and Prince Rupert, BC; the Jacques Cartier and Champlain bridges at Montreal, Que.; and the grain elevators at Prescott and Port Colborne, Ont. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

National Library. The National Library came formally into existence on January 1, 1953, with the proclamation of the National Library Act (RSC 1970, c.N-11). It publishes Canadiana, a monthly catalogue of new publications relating to Canada, with an annual cumulation. The Library also publishes other bibliographies. Its Reference Branch maintains the Canadian Union Catalogue which embodies the author catalogues of the major libraries in the ten provinces and is thus a key to the book collections of the whole country. The Library's own book stock totals more than 400,000 volumes. The National Librarian reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

National Museums of Canada. The National Museums of Canada is a departmental Crown corporation established April 1, 1968, by the National Museums Act (RSC 1970, c.N-12). The corporation was established to join under one administration the four existing museum activities: the National Gallery of Canada; the National Museum of Man (including the Canadian War Museum); the National Museum of Natural Sciences; and the National Museum of Science and Technology (including the National Aeronautical Collection). The corporation reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

The board of trustees is composed of a chairman, a vice-chairman, an executive committee of five and seven additional board members. All these members of the board are appointed by Governor in Council for fixed terms of office. In addition there are two ex-officio members, the Director of the Canada Council

and the President of the National Research Council.

The purposes of the corporation, according to the Act, are "to demonstrate the products of nature and the works of man, with special but not exclusive reference to Canada, so as to promote interest therein throughout Canada and to disseminate knowledge thereof". To these ends the corporation is empowered to: collect, classify, preserve and display objects relevant to its purposes; undertake or sponsor research relevant to its purposes; arrange for and sponsor travelling exhibitions of materials in, or related to, its collections; arrange for the publication or acquisition and the sale to the public of books, pamphlets, replicas and other materials related to its purposes; undertake or sponsor programs for the training of persons in the professions and skills involved in the operation of museums; arrange for or provide professional and technical services to other organizations whose purposes are similar to any of those of the corporation on such terms and conditions as may be approved by the Minister; and generally, do and authorize such things as are incidental or conducive to the attainment of the purposes of the corporation and the exercise of its powers.

National Parole Board. The National Parole Board was established in January 1959 by the Parole Act (RSC 1970, c.P-2), which gives it absolute authority for parole of immates under sentence of imprisonment imposed under an Act of Parliament or for criminal contempt of court. Under the Act the Board has jurisdiction over all matters of federal parole, except for commuted death sentences for capital or non-capital murder. In such cases eligibility is possible after ten years but consent for eligibility and for release on parole must come from the Governor in Council. The Board is composed of a chairman and eight other members appointed by Order in Council for ten years. The Board reports to Parliament through the Solicitor General of Canada.

National Research Council of Canada. This is an agency of the federal government established in 1916 to promote scientific and industrial research. The Council operates science and engineering laboratories in Ottawa, Halifax and Saskatoon; gives direct financial support to research carried out in Canadian university and industrial laboratories; sponsors associate committees co-ordinating research on specific problems of national interest; and develops and maintains the nation's primary physical standards. The federal government has designated NRC as the co-ordinating body for the further development of a national scientific and technical information system under the general direction of the National Librarian. Other activities include the provision of free technical information to manufacturing concerns; the publication of research journals; and representation of Canada in International Scientific Unions. Patentable inventions developed in the Council's laboratories are made available for manufacture through a subsidiary company, Canadian Patents and Development Limited. The National Research Council consists of a president, three vice-presidents and 17 members representing Canadian universities, industry and labour. The Council is incorporated under the National Research Council Act (RSC 1970, c.N-14) and reports to Parliament through a designated Minister, at present the President of the Treasury Board.

New Brunswick Multiplex Corporation. This Corporation was established under the terms of a formal agreement between the federal and provincial governments on February 2, 1971. The object of the Corporation is to develop preliminary plans for the creation of a metal-working industrial complex centred in Saint John, NB. The Corporation reports to Parliament through the Minister of Regional Economic Expansion.